My Paleo Food Diary

Hi Friends!

I’ve been MIA on this blog for the last two weeks because I have been (unsuccessfully) recipe testing. I think one of the common misconceptions about Lifestyle blogs is that everything we post turns out perfectly the first time. That couldn’t be further from the truth. Since the inception of this blog, I’ve probably have more kitchen flops than successes, and I’ve had plenty of crafts turn out looking like they were done by a preschooler rather than a full-grown adult.

Let me preface this by saying that we ate a lot of take-out this week. I managed to put together an example food diary from the recipes that turned out palatable. Nothing was mind-blowing, except for the arracherra, but that’s because it’s one of my “go-to” recipes that I knew would not disappoint. I can only take experimentation for so long!

Breakfast – Sun-Dried Tomato Sausage Link from Trader Joe’s (not pictured) and “Green” Smoothie
To make the smoothie, I juiced 2 carrots, 1 cucumber, 1 lemon, a handful of parsley, and a 1-inch piece of ginger. I added that to a blender with 3 stalks of kale, 1 tablespoon of flax seed, and 1 tablespoon of coconut oil. The result was OK. The texture wasn’t a little too grainy (if only I had a VitaMix!) and it needed something in the taste department. Next time around, I’ll probably juice all the veggies and blend in a banana or some strawberries for some added sweetness.

Paleo Food Diary Breakfast - Cucina Kristina | cucinakristina.com

This Green Juice Boost (of Energy!) is so much better!

Lunch – Cucumber & Lox
This was my Paleo rendition of the classic bagel and lox sandwich. Since cream cheese is not Paleo, I omitted that. The result wasn’t terrible, but it was definitely missing something. I need to whip up a dressing or a sauce to accompany this because it wasn’t my favorite dish in the world.

Paleo Food Diary Lunch - Cucina Kristina | cucinakristina.com

A take on bagels and lox without the cream cheese.

Snack – Apples with Sunbutter
I discovered Sunbutter as an alternative to nut butters and I can’t get enough. The classroom I was student teaching in was a peanut and nut free classroom and I wasn’t allowed to bring my almond and cashew butters to school. I think I actually like this better than almond butter! If you do not have any apples lying around, this is just as tasty right off the back of a spoon. 🙂

Paleo Food Diary Snack - Cucina Kristina | cucinakristina.com

Better than peanut butter!

Dinner – Arrachera (Skirt Steak) with Cauli Rice and Grilled Green Onions
If you have not coated a green onion in olive oil, seasoned it with salt and pepper, and popped it on the grill, you are missing out on life. Green onions are mild to begin with, but when you grill them they become very sweet and tender. They are the perfect accompaniment to arrachera. I love arrachera because it is inexpensive and cooks up quickly. If you do not have outdoor grill space, you can cook it on the stove top very easily. Because it is thinly sliced, it takes about 3 minutes per side for a well-done piece of steak. I marinated the arrachera for 8 hours in olive oil, red wine vinegar, onion, garlic, and adobo. While my husband was manning the grill, I made fresh pico de gallo and guacamole (not pictured).

Paleo Food Diary Dinner - Cucina Kristina | cucinakristina.com

Did you know you can regrow green onions? True story.

This dinner was by far the best thing I have cooked up in the last two weeks! Hopefully, I will fare better this week. Have a happy and safe 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

