My Paleo Food Diary

Last week’s Paleo Food Diary was wildly successful; it got the most hits of any post I’ve ever written! I am so glad that people are interested in the world of Paleo, and I hope that these food logs will give folks a little insight into how delicious Paleo eating can be. We made a trip to Costco last week, and I bought 36 eggs. I promise I will post a non-egg breakfast next week or the week after when we make our way through our current stash.

Breakfast – Scrambled Eggs with Green Pepper, Onion, Mushroom, Sun-Dried Tomato & Basil Chicken Sausage, and Strawberries
This week I cooked up some green peppers, mushrooms, and onions and mixed them in with scrambled eggs. I cut up some strawberries and cooked up a sun-dried tomato and basil chicken sausage link that I bought at Trader Joe’s. I also had a cup of coffee with coconut milk.

Cucina Kristina | Breakfast | cucinakristina.com

Cooks up quickly

Lunch – Leftover Chicken Fajitas, Guacamole, and Pico de Gallo
Fajitas are a staple dinner in our house. We eat them almost every week and I always make sure we have enough for leftovers. I ate them just like this with a fork, but you could also have these leftovers in the form of a salad or use iceberg lettuce leaves in place of tortillas. My recipe for pico de gallo and guacamole can be found here. This was so good, I had two helpings!

Paleo Food Diary Lunch - Cucina Kristina | cucinakristina.com

Fajitas are a staple in our home

Snack – Spicy Power Bars
I wasn’t super hungry between meals this week, but I had power bars leftover from last week and snacked on those when I got hungry. The power bar recipe is from Elana’s Pantry and it is delicious.

Spicy Power Bars | Recipe courtesy of Elana's Pantry @ elanaspantry.com | Cucina Kristina | cucinakristina.com

This recipe makes 10-12 bars

Dinner – Open Faced Burger with Cauli Rice and Roasted Radishes
I used a head of cauliflower to make cauli rice last week and had a ton leftover. I know I promised the recipe, but I had so much leftover I didn’t need to make any more. I didn’t realize a head of cauliflower made as much rice as it did! Next time I make this, I will take pictures and post the recipe immediately. I promise. 🙂 Luckily cauli rice holds up well in the fridge and reheats easily. My husband wanted burgers for dinner so I served him a traditional burger and ate mine sans bun. I seasoned the meat with the Sazón seasoning my Foodie Pen Pal Paul sent me. Phew! Say that three times fast!

Paleo Food Diary Dinner - Cucina Kristina | cucinakristina.com

There’s lettuce, tomato, and pickles under the patty

 There you have it! Another glimpse into a typical meal day of Paleo eating. I am trying to cut back on my overall sugar intake so I avoided dessert this week. The sugar industry is sneaky and it makes me so angry! Did you know that the average American consumes 130 pounds of sugar each year? Let that sink in for a minute… 130 POUNDS of something with absolutely no nutritional value. Even if you do not drink soda or eat sweets, your sugar intake is probably higher than you think. Once I started reading labels more closely, I was astounded at the amount of sugar in pre-packaged foods! Steve over at Nerd Fitness just wrote a fantastic article all about sugar. Go read it and get angry. Then, shake your fist defiantly at the sugar industry and refuse to let them continue interfering with your health! End rant.

Leave a Reply

