Five Senses Friday – June 14

Five Senses Friday | cucinakristina.com | Join the fun! #5sensesfri

Sight – I watched a documentary this week called Nursery University which is about the competitive admission process to New York City pre-schools. Pre-school! I can’t imagine paying $20,000 a year in tuition to send my kid to pre-school, but apparently it is rather normal in Manhattan. My undergraduate college education wasn’t that expensive! Insanity!

Hear – My super awesome Zumba teacher taught her last class at my college gym this week. She was a BIG source of inspiration for me over the last two years. Before I left my full-time job, I was in a total funk and working out very inconsistently. I couldn’t find the motivation most days to hit the gym after my long commute to and from work. I had heard a lot about Zumba but, not being a dancer, was always intimidated to try it out. I walked into her Zumba class on a whim figuring I could leave if I didn’t like it. I got totally hooked and started rearranging my schedule to fit her classes into my workout routine. I am sad to see her leave! If I ever find myself in a Latin dance club, watch out because I have some moves up my sleeve!

zumba class pic | cucinakristina.com

An “after” pic of our class. Julia is to the right of the two guys holding the card!

Feel – I did my first chin-up this week! I feel extremely proud of myself. Weight lifting has been tough at times. It can be intimidating to lift next to all the bulky men in the weight room, but I am getting stronger everyday and it is good motivation to keep going. In the picture below, I was doing single arm rows with 30 pound weights and alternating between sets of 12 reps and sets of cross leg push ups. It’s harder than it sounds!

cucinakristina.com

Strong is the new skinny

Smell – I made rose water this week using rose petals from our backyard. The smell as it’s cooking is so wonderful. It’s as if you are sitting in the middle of a rose garden in the country.

Cucina Kristina | cucinakristina.com

Rose petals. By the way, there’s no filter or Photoshop here!

Taste – Rick Bayless has a new line of sauces and marinades out on the market. My husband has been asking me to make enchiladas for about two weeks and I finally caved. I decided to take the lazy route and use a pre-packaged sauce and the result was really tasty! You can find the recipe for them here. My husband gobbled them up and told me that he would be happy eating these every week for the rest of our marriage. That’s a pretty bold statement coming from him as he gets bored with food very quickly and rarely eats leftovers!

3 thoughts on “Five Senses Friday – June 14

  1. Love it. I remember your hanging from a bar in gymnastics class as a preschooler. I was amazed at your strength; so I am not surprised by your chinup.

    • Aunt Donna said that my Grandfather used to say the same thing! That’s funny because I don’t remember being particularly strong as a child, but now that I look back on it with my gymnastics and swimming background I was probably was!

Leave a Reply

