My Paleo Food Diary

People are always shocked when they find out I do not eat grains, dairy, or refined carbohydrates. It’s as if they think the only thing left on Earth to consume is air! Paleo eating is a lot more abundant and delicious than people think. I swear! To prove it, I thought I would put together a photo diary showing what I eat in a typical day.

First, let me dispel the misconception that I eat zero carbs. While I am avoiding simple carbs (bread, pasta, bagels, muffins, etc.), I load up on complex, nutrient-dense carbs (leafy greens, nuts, seeds, fruits, etc.). We traditionally only think of carbs in the simple form and while my carbohydrate intake has certainly lowered over the last 6 months, it is far from zero.

Breakfast – Fried Eggs over a Warm Asparagus, Mushroom, and Arugula Salad
I took a handful of arugula and tossed it in olive oil and fresh squeezed lemon juice. Then, I topped it with mushrooms, shallots, and asparagus that I sautéed in olive oil. Next, I added 2 fried eggs, a sprinkle of paprika, and served it alongside some avocado slices. Before breaking the yolk and letting it ooze all over my plate, I did a little jig because I was super amped to have this plate of awesomeness in front of me. I also enjoyed a hot cup o’ joe with coconut milk.

Cucina Kristina's Paleo Food Diary - Breakfast: Fried eggs over a warm mushroom, asparagus, and arugula salad.

I’ll probably eat this everyday all summer!

Lunch – Mason Jar Salad
For the last 6 months, I have eaten a mason jar salad everyday for lunch. I prep them on Sunday and enjoy them all week. There are so many ways you can change up a salad, I never get bored with them. I dress my salads with extra virgin olive oil and fresh lemon juice, lime juice, or red wine vinegar because I am boring when it comes to salad dressings; however, you can use any dressing you like. I also always add a source of protein like hard-boiled eggs, chicken, or tuna and an additional fat source like pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, or nuts.

Mason Jar Salads. Stay fresh for up to a week in the fridge. Layer hardier ingredients on the bottom and more delicate items on top. Cucina Kristina | cucinakristina.com

Eat your veggies 🙂

Snack – Spicy Power Bars
I rarely get hungry between meals. I know! It is hard for me to believe sometimes since I spent a good part of my life calorie restricting and feeling hungry ALL. THE. TIME. If I feel hungry during the day, I snack on homemade power bars, a handful of nuts (pistachio are my favorite!), or beef jerky. I am usually hungrier on days after I workout and less hungry on my rest days. This power bar recipe is from Elana’s Pantry and it is delicious.

Spicy Power Bars | Recipe courtesy of Elana's Pantry @ elanaspantry.com | Cucina Kristina | cucinakristina.com

This recipe makes 10-12 bars

Dinner – Beef and Broccoli over Cauli Rice
For dinner I made beef and broccoli over a bed of cauli rice. Yes, that white stuff below is cauliflower, not rice. This dish comes together quickly and everything can be prepped ahead of time. Bonus! The recipe for the beef and the cauli rice are coming next week!

Beef and broccoli over cauli rice

Not white rice? Coulda fooled me!

Dessert – Strawberry Hibiscus Popsicle
If you do not have a set of popsicle molds, you can use ice cube trays, Dixie cups, or muffin tins. This week, I made or Strawberry Hibiscus Popsicles. These popsicles are dairy-free, gluten-free, Paleo, and have no added refined sugar. The ingredients are Hibiscus tea, strawberries, banana, and honey. They are simple, refreshing, and delicious! You can find the recipe here.

Cucina Kristina | Strawberry Hibiscus Popsicle | cucinakristina.com

No added refined sugars!

There you have it! That is a pretty typical day for me. If you prep these meals beforehand, the active cooking time for each of them is less than 15 minutes. I had a lot of fun putting this together. Do I have a new blog series on my hands? Possibly! 🙂

9 thoughts on “My Paleo Food Diary

  1. Great, great ideas! Love the mason jar salads idea (I’m going to start this) and yes, please provide the dinner recipe! Love the pics too!!

  2. This all looks so amazing! How did you make the popsicles? Also – your breakfast looks out of control good.

  3. Pingback: Maxwell Street Market & Strawberry Hibiscus Popsicles | Cucina Kristina

  4. Pingback: My Paleo Food Diary | Cucina Kristina

  5. Pingback: Cucina Kristina Goes Gluten-Free! | Cucina Kristina

Leave a Reply

