I’m Breaking Up With My Scale

Cucina Kristina | cucinakristina.com

If you have a few minutes to read the Whole 9’s article, 5 Reasons to Break Up With Your Scale, you should; it’s a great read. If not, let me quote the sentence that spoke the most to me. “A $20 hunk of plastic from Target should not be the determining factor in your self-esteem.” 

YES. YES. So much YES. How many times have I worked my butt off at the gym, ate perfectly, resisted temptations, and gotten on that stupid thing only to find the number hadn’t budged? Or worse, had gone UP? The sense of accomplishment that I had felt mere seconds earlier flew out the window all because of a “$20 hunk of plastic.”

In October of 2012, I promised to weigh myself every Wednesday and post my progress online. It wasn’t long before I ditched that promise and vowed to measure my weight loss in other ways – like measuring body fat percentage. However, because that stupid scale lived in my bathroom, I couldn’t resist stepping on it in the morning. The first month of working out consistently and changing my diet led me to a 1.5% body fat decrease; yet, I still felt sad because the number on the scale hadn’t budged.

Sorry, scale. Our relationship is unhealthy and you’ve got to go! Adiós! Sayonara! Ciao! Au revoir!
Talk to you never.

I am going to take the next 6 weeks to get back on track and refocus my goals. I will be participating in a health and fitness challenge through Nerd Fitness. I’ve spoken before about how much I love that website; you should check it out if you’re interested in becoming more awesome. The health and fitness articles are super informative, inspirational, and well-written. For this challenge, I’ve given myself the following goals:

  • Break up with my scale. – Check!
  • Weight train 3 days a week and record my progress during each workout.
  • Eat 100% Paleo for the next 6 weeks.
  • Cut out alcohol completely.

Nerd Fitness talks a lot about setting SMART goals. A SMART goal is one that is Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Timely. Since my goals for the next 6 weeks could be a bit more measurable, I am implementing the following grading scale.

Break up with my scale. 
Get on the scale ONE time = F. I am sick of that thing. It’s leaving my house TODAY.

Weight train 3 days a week. This equals 18 workouts.

18 workouts = A
15-17 workouts = B
14 workouts = C
13 workouts = D
<13 workouts = F

Eat 100% Paleo for the next 6 weeks.
I feel this is an all or none goal. I’ve been meaning to do it for the last month and there is no time like the present!

Cut out alcohol completely.
I also feel this is an all or none goal. I am trying to build some healthier habits and drinking beers at a street festival or a baseball game isn’t going to help me do it. However, 4th of July falls in the midst of this challenge and I have a bachelorette party to attend next weekend. So, to be realistic, I will still consider myself successful if I allow myself to have 3 “cheat” days. On those days, I will limit myself to 2 glasses of red wine or 2 vodka/soda drinks.

I am going to do my best to blog about this over the next 6 weeks, but if it proves to be too stressful, I’ll just do a round-up post on July 15. Building new habits is hard and I’d rather focus on making healthy changes in my life than recording it on my blog… at least for the first go-round. 🙂

Leave a Reply

