Waldorf-Inspired Tuna Salad

Do you ever have a really great culinary idea that you are sure no one else has thought of? So, you Google it only find that thousands of people, including one of your favorite bloggers, has already thought of it?! That happened to me with this recipe. Sigh.

Alas, this recipe is super tasty and is quickly becoming a weekly staple in our house. I thought of it when I was trying to think of ways to use the homemade mayo I whipped up a few weeks ago. I was trying to think of something more exciting than deviled eggs when it hit me. A Waldorf salad!

A traditional Waldorf salad is made with chicken, apples, and walnuts and served over lettuce. I didn’t have any chicken on hand so I decided to try it with tuna and the result was nothing short of fantastic. I decided to add grapes because I like them and have seen some variations on this recipe include them. I also didn’t have enough walnuts on hand so I added some pecans to make sure the crunch factor was up to par.

The apples and grapes in this salad make it very refreshing on a hot day; it would make a wonderful picnic dish if not for the mayonnaise. You can’t win ’em all!

Waldorf-Inspired Tuna Salad

Waldorf-Inspired Tuna Salad. 2 cans tuna, 1 medium apple, diced; 1 cup grapes, sliced in half; 1/4 cup pecans, toasted and chopped; 1/4 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped; 1/2 cup celery, diced; 2-3 tablespoons mayo | cucinakristina.com

Homemade Mayo, ftw!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans tuna
  • 1 medium apple, diced
  • 1 cup grapes, sliced in half
  • 1/4 cup pecans, toasted and chopped
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped
  • 1/2 cup celery, diced – I used the celery to eat this tuna salad. If you are using it as a sandwich filling, you may want to up the celery to 3/4 of a cup
  • 2-3 tablespoons homemade mayo

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, add the apple, celery, grapes, pecans, and walnuts and toss to combine.
  2. Drain tuna and crumble into the bowl. Toss to combine.
  3. Add mayo and mix thoroughly.
  4. Serve using celery sticks as scoops.
One thought on “Waldorf-Inspired Tuna Salad

  1. Pingback: I’m Going to a Pin It Party! | Cucina Kristina

Leave a Reply

