Two Weeks Of Student Teaching To Go!

Hello Internet! Remember me? πŸ™‚

Student teaching is eating my life. God bless all of the Kindergarten teachers out there, I don’t know how they do it! It’s only been 8 weeks of full-time student teaching and I am EXHAUSTED. Going into a Kindergarten classroom everyday feels very much like training for a marathon. I have to get a full 8-9 hours of sleep. I have to eat a good breakfast. I have to be well hydrated and limber. I have to make sure all of life’s little distractions are taken care of because I won’t have time to tend to them during the day. It’s go, go, GO from the second I step inside school to the second I leave, and I love it. This has been such an amazing experience.

A card I got during Teacher Appreciation Week!

A card I got during Teacher Appreciation Week!

Kindergarten can be a very challenging age group to teach, especially when you are used to working with older kids. Before entering Kindergarten, the youngest age I had taught was 5th grade. I have learned more about patience, conflict resolution, and classroom management than I ever could have imagined. I was nervous about accepting a placement in Kindergarten since I ultimately want to teach at the Middle School level, but I think this was the best decision I could have made for my teaching career. Even on the most challenging days I ask myself, “Would I rather be here or back in the office?” The answer 110% of the time is: HERE. I love teaching so much and I can’t wait to have my own classroom in the fall!

Writer's Workshop. We are working on "brave spelling" and writing more than 1 sentence.

Writer’s Workshop. We’re working on “brave spelling” and writing more than 1 sentence.

Check out some of the wonderful work we’ve done over the last 2 months.

Paper plate craft for Shark Week!

Paper plate craft for Shark Week!

Duck/Rabbit opinion writing.

Duck/Rabbit opinion writing.

Ways to "Go Green" for Earth Week.

Ways to “Go Green” for Earth Week.

Vegetable opinion writing for "V" week.

Vegetable opinion writing for “V” week.

Eventually, I will post all of this in one place. I have two weeks left and then job-hunting begins. Any leads? Send them my way! I am open to teaching in the city of Chicago or the surrounding suburbs. πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Two Weeks Of Student Teaching To Go!

  1. Kristina, HAPPY BIRTHDAY and a great blog! Is this kndergarten? They are writing whole sentences. I am impressed; yet. I know that at that age I had the potential within me if I had the teachers to teach me. I certainly had the desire. It went largely untapped. Keep your blogs coming (if and when you have the time). L/P

  2. Revisited your blog. GREAT art work and prose from your students. It all starts at the top, from a GREAT TEACHER.

Leave a Reply

