April Photo A Day – Day 8: “On Your Plate”

Paleo friendly!

Paleo friendly!

Remember the artichokes that made it into my carry-on from California? Well, today one made it to my dinner plate. I cook them by steaming them upside down for about an hour. I usually add garlic, salt, parsley, and lemon to the water and it gives the artichokes a light flavoring that isn’t overpowering. Typically, I dip them in melted butter, but I was so hungry tonight I just dug right in! My husband asked for chicken parmesan so I made him that and adjusted mine so that it would fit in with my Paleo diet. I used coconut flour and almond meal as the breading and topped it with the artichoke marinara sauce that my March Foodie Pen Pal sent me. I am glad I made enough for leftovers tomorrow because it was delicious!

Leave a Reply

