Five Senses Friday

Sight – In a previous Five Senses Friday post I mentioned that I had purchased season tickets to the Steppenwolf Theater. Last night, I saw Motherfu**er With the Hat and, as usual, it did not disappoint. The play had some colorful language (as you can probably guess by the title) so it might not be for everyone, but I really enjoyed it.

I was seated next to a young man (probably around 21-23 if I had to guess) who was in town from San Antonio. He was here auditioning for various Graduate school and theater programs. He was taking notes throughout the entire play and, when the play was over, I could tell he wanted to give the actors a standing ovation. He practically leaped out of his seat, but instead sat on the edge as he looked around and saw no one else was standing. I reminded me a lot of myself at that age. You are fresh out of college, have no ties to a particular city, and have the whole world at your fingertips!

Hear – We have been talking a lot about inquiry-based learning and dispelling student misconceptions in my science class. By chance, This American Life ran a podcast called “Kid Logic,” which examines stories of kids coming to incorrect conclusions using logical rationale.

Feel – I feel very stressed out this week. I have a packed couple of weeks leading up to the start of my student teaching. I haven’t been practicing yoga over the last few weeks and as I struggled to quiet my mind before bed last night, I realized that I need to make sure I am working my practice into my daily life. I feel much more calm and relaxed throughout the day when I am regularly doing Vinyasa flows!

Smell – The sense of smell can be a powerful memory trigger. I was wondering how smell and memory were linked this week so I Googled around and found this article in the New York Times. It is an interesting read about how the brain links memories to certain smells and the biology behind how they connect.

Taste – It’s Restaurant Week in Chicago! Restaurant Week is when participating restaurants around the city offer pre-fixe $22 lunch menus and $33/$44 dinner menus. It is a great way to experience certain restaurants around the city that you may not otherwise be able to afford. My girlfriends and I dined at Café Des Architectes on Wednesday night.

One thought on “Five Senses Friday

  1. I am so happy to see “5 Senses Friday,” again. As usual, like your Steppenwolf Theater, “it did not disappoint.” Keep it going.

Leave a Reply

