2013 New Year’s Resolutions

Cyanide & Happiness  |  http://www.explosm.net/

Cyanide & Happiness | http://www.explosm.net/

Hee, hee, hee. I love that comic! We’ve all been there right? We start the New Year out with the best of intentions and usually end up resorting right back to our old habits in a few weeks. I am almost positive that it was Will Smith who was quoted saying he was against making New Year’s Resolutions because anything worth resolving in the New Year is probably something you should have changed 6 months prior. I can’t find any evidence of this quote online or evidence of it being tied to Will Smith so it may not have been him that said it. It is also possible that I may not be remembering it well enough for it to turn up in a Google search, but I usually think about that quote around this time of year.

While I kind of agree with that quote, I have to admit that I like the idea of New Year’s Resolutions. There is something refreshing about starting over, and I like the optimism the New Year brings to people. Most of my resolutions change from year to year, but there is one that has shown up on my list for the past 5 or 6 years (maybe more, but who’s counting) that I have yet to accomplish. That resolution is to be able to do a pull-up.

One pull-up.

One.

1!

How hard can that possibly be? Apparently, very difficult as I still can’t even get myself half way up! Well, 2013 is the year! 

This post from Nerd Fitness is the regime I will be following. I need to add weight training to my workouts as it is, and I feel that a pull-up is a good goal to work towards.

Other resolutions that made the cut this year are:

Be a better listener
I met with two girls in my program at the end of last quarter to work on a group project and was really impressed with what a good listener one of the girls was. She was actively listening and engaging in the conversation. I think there is a big difference in listening and waiting for your turn to speak, and I feel I do the latter more often than I should. I definitely want to work on being a better listener in 2013.

Learn to speak Spanish
This is another resolution that has popped up on my list more than once in the past. The Spanish Language Center in Chicago ran  a great Black Friday deal for unlimited Spanish classes in 2013. I bought it so I have no excuses not to learn!

Volunteer more of my time
I volunteered with Common Threads two years ago and really enjoyed it. I do short-term volunteer work here and there, but would like to get involved with an organization that I can devote my time to on a more consistent basis.

Spend more time outside during the winter (think snowboarding, ice skating, and building snowmen!)
I get really grumpy during the winter because I feel trapped indoors. I don’t mind working out in gyms, but nothing beats swimming outdoors or taking a run by the water. I’d like to try to combat my winter blues by being more active outside during the winter months.

Watch less TV
I didn’t realize how much time I spend in front of the old idiot box until I came to my mom’s house for the holidays. She doesn’t have cable TV and there is no point in watching anything on channels 2-13. I’ve noticed that I am finding time to exercise, read, cook, clean, and run errands much more easily than I do at home because I am not wasting time in front of the boob tube!

Read more often
I’ve read two books since being home over the last week. That is more than I have read in the last two months in Chicago! I couldn’t afford to have cable in my old studio apartment and read every night before bed. Now, I find myself falling asleep by watching TV. It is a bad habit, and I want to break it next year.

Write more
I love blogging and engaging in conversation with my readers. I am so thankful and humbled that people take the time to read the things that I write and hope to bring more to the table in 2013!

Start the process for getting yoga teacher certification
I have been talking about getting yoga certified for nearly three years. If I started the process when I first thought about getting certified, I would BE certified today. I think it would be so rewarding and amazing to share and spread my love for yoga to others!

Reduce, reuse, and recycle
On a scale of 1-10 when it comes to being green, I give myself a 5. I recycle, but I could definitely be better about reducing my waste and reusing things before chucking them in the garbage or sending them to the recycling bins.

How about you? What are your New Year’s Resolutions?
Please share in the comments!

One thought on “2013 New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Weigh-In Wednesday: January | cucina_kristina

Leave a Reply

