Five Senses Friday

Sight – In my last Five Senses Friday post, I wrote about the Christmas lights in Naples (Long Beach), California. My mom and I made it up there last night to walk around and it did not disappoint!

Naples Island in Long Beach, California

Naples Island in Long Beach, California

This house had 7 Christmas trees set up in the courtyard!

This house had 7 Christmas trees set up in the courtyard!

Long Beach, California

Long Beach, California

The sign says "Griswold's Family Christmas"

The sign says “Griswold’s Family Christmas”

The mouth portion is a movie screep projecting The Polar Express!

The mouth portion is a movie screen projecting The Polar Express! The homeowner was also selling hot chocolate.

Check out snowboard santa in the upper right hand corner.

Check out snowboard Santa in the upper right hand corner.

Naples Island, Long Beach, California

Naples Island, Long Beach, California

 

Hear – The thing I love most about being in California is the ability to swim outside! The thing I love the most about swimming is the silence. I love the fact that you hear nothing but the swishing of H2O once you put your face in the water. Very relaxing.

Feel – Today, I am feeling very happy that the winter solstice is upon us. That means the nights are getting shorter, the days are getting longer, and summer is a mere 6 months away!

Smell – My nose has been tickled with the scent of fresh basil growing in my mom’s backyard. I can’t wait to make some pesto and Caprese salads!

Taste – The first thing I did when I arrived in California was swing by Wahoo’s for lunch. It has become a tradition to make it my first food stop. If there were a Wahoo’s in Chicago, I might not be so grumpy in the winter months. Hmmm… franchise opportunity, maybe?

5 thoughts on “Five Senses Friday

  1. I want to check out that area of LB now. It looks amazing.
    I feel the cold air on my early morning shifts at TJ’s.
    I smell my cup of hot salted caramel chai from TJ’s.
    I taste the green chile and chicken tamales that I had from TJ’s this morning.
    I hear the clock tick quite loudly in my room. Damn that’s a loud clock.

  2. Sight – Seeing your Long Beach photos.
    Sound – The background talking on my radio sleep setting as I am going to sleep and the sound is merely white noise.
    Taste – The taste of a Haitian cheese-filled pastry at 3pm after I’ve riden my bike to the dentist and the library have not eaten all day.
    Feeling – The feeling of the wind and a few snowflakes on my face as I walked to church this mornong.
    Smell – The smell of peppers and sausage cooking somewhere in my neighborhood as I returned home from the bus.

Leave a Reply

