Weigh-In Wednesday: December

I know it is Thursday, but I’ve been traveling and haven’t been around a computer until now. I am in California spending time with my family for the holidays. I keep reading on Facebook that the weather in Chicago is dreary and gross so I am happy to have sunny skies around me at the moment! I don’t do well in inclement weather. Living in Chicago is quite challenging for me year-round! This was my view this morning at 7 a.m. as I sipped coffee from my mom’s kitchen table. Why did I ever leave California? It is a mystery!

December in southern California!

December in southern California!

Soooo… I’ve been off the workout wagon for the last month. I didn’t expect a good weigh-in today and was considering skipping this post all together. However, the main reason that I started blogging about weight loss was to hold myself accountable. Since my last weigh-in, I have not been eating as well as I should have, and I did not workout consistently or with any sort of intensity. I have been doing a ton of reading about HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training), and think I am going to give that a go from here on out. I have been a reader of BodyRock.tv for years and have done the workouts here and there, but feel it is time to step it up and start doing workouts like that more consistently.

Today, I did a HIIT-inspired swim set. I love, love, love swimming. I swam competitively in high school and on a club team in college. I’ve considered joining a Master’s Team over the years, but haven’t been able to find one that fits my schedule in Chicago. My school has a really nice pool so I just need to motivate myself to jump into the water when it is below 32 degrees! Even though it is a heated, indoor pool, I am shivering just thinking about it!

My workout today was about 30 minutes. I warmed up with an easy 10 laps of freestyle. Then, I did 4 sets of 4-minute all out freestyle, followed by 1 minute of easy breaststroke. You are supposed to repeat this immediately until you have done 4 sets in a row, but I thought I was going to have a heart attack by the end of the first one so I rested for 1-2 minutes between sets. After 4 sets (~20 minutes), I did an easy 10 laps as a cool down. I alternated 50’s of freestyle and breaststroke.

I am also going to up my protein intake. I try to eat as vegetarian or vegan as possible for various reason, but I think I will have a better shot at increasing muscle mass if I increase my protein intake.

So, that’s the plan! I’ll let you know how it went at next month’s weigh-in. January 16 for those keeping track. 🙂

Starting weight: 155.5 lbs.
Last month’s weight: 152 lbs.
Current weight: 153.5 lbs.

Up 1.5 pounds, but still down 2 pounds overall. Onwards and upwards! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Weigh-In Wednesday: December

Leave a Reply

