Five Senses Friday

Yeesh, I’ve had a busy week! I’m in the midst of final exams and I am taking my state certification test for teaching on Saturday. I feel very overwhelmed and am hoping I make out alive! ๐Ÿ™‚

Five Senses Friday is something I’ve started to look forward to and really enjoy. Feel free to join me and share your week in five senses. If you are on Twitter, use the hashtag #5sensesfri.

Sight – I go to a lot of plays. There is something magical about the theater, I can’t get enough of it. My girlfriend and I got tickets to the pre-Broadway premier (in Chicago) of Kinky Boots through Groupon last week. It was FANTASTIC! If you are in New York in 2013 and are looking for a play to see, I would highly recommend it. The music was great, the choreography was unbelievable, the cast was energetic and brought the crowd to their feet with cheers multiple times. One of the best musicals I have seen in a long time.

HearEd Sheeran has been gracing my Spotify all week. I discovered him on Twitter. I love the internet.

Smell – I workout at a small studio in Lincoln Park called Pure Wellness. If you are in Chicago, you should check them out! Each of their classes ends with a short period of restorative yoga. I leave every single class feeling so relaxed, which is not always the case after a workout. At the end of each class as we are lying in our shavasanas, the instructor walks around with scented essential oils adding another layer of relaxation onto our practice.

Feel – Tuesday was my first time voting in Illinois and voting with my married name. I always feel empowered after voting and love that I have the opportunity to make my voice heard. Since I am sure we are all on election overload, I’ll just leave it at that. ๐Ÿ™‚

Taste –ย A friend of mine is a reporter for Chicago Public Radio here in Chicago. This weekend she was facilitating a discussion at the Chicago Humanities Festival about chocolate. One of the speakers was representing one of my favorite chocolate shops in Chicago, Vosges Haut Chocolat. The owner, Katrina, used to run these amazing chocolate pairing events in her Lincoln Park store. Her flavors are inspired by her travels and she aims to share her experiences and allow her customers to travel the world through chocolate. The chocolate can be pricey (around $8 for a bar), but it is high-quality and unique. It makes perfect gifts and definitely can lift a girls’ spirits when she is having a rough day.

2 thoughts on “Five Senses Friday

  1. Kristina, good luck with all your exams and certification test. Wow! You are a busy lady! Did you actually fly to NY for the Broadway premier? AP

Leave a Reply

