Weigh-In Wednesday: October

Over the weekend, I had to buy a brand new pair of jeans because every pair of pants I own no longer fit. Buying new jeans is a great feeling when you are going down sizes, but an awful feeling when you are going UP sizes (like I was).

I have been struggling with my weight ever since getting a 9-5 desk job. This is one of the reasons I opted to go back to school and change careers. I absolutely could not stand sitting at a desk all day. Not only was it boring, but it was drastically effecting my health. Prior to moving to Chicago, I was a swim and snowboard instructor. I never realized how awesome it was to have active jobs where I was outside and moving around all day. While I realize teaching isn’t going to burn the amount of calories I would burn during the winter ski season, I am looking forward to having the freedom to move around the classroom each and every day. You’d be surprised at how stiff and sore you get sitting at a desk for a few hours straight!

So, this series is going to chronicle my journey back to fitness. I’m going to start tracking my food intake and will be posting healthier recipes from here on out (don’t worry, I will throw in a few treats from time to time :)). I am nervous about posting my weight on the internet for all to see, but my goal is to be as honest and open as I can be throughout this process so that I can have a log of what works and what doesn’t for me. My goals with this change are not just to lose pounds and inches. I also want to increase flexibility and improve my strength.

Day 1

Note: I actually weighed in at 155 lbs but had to put on my shoes because I desperately need a pedicure. Posting my weight on the internet was stressful enough, and I couldn’t bear the thought of having my weight on here with ugly feet!

2 thoughts on “Weigh-In Wednesday: October

  1. Kristina, you are amazing. Since you are documenting your journey getting to health, fitness and feeling robust, again, it opens up the opportunity to share your experiences at a later date with others who are not on your site. It is amazing how much slippers, clothes, water, etc. can weigh. When i want to minimize my weight at a weigh-in, I go to the bathroom first. AP

  2. Pingback: I’m Breaking Up With My Scale | Cucina Kristina

Leave a Reply

