How To Correctly Put a Lid on a Coffee Cup

Fall is in the air! As much as I miss living in California, there is no better place to be during the fall season than the Midwest. It is always sad to say goodbye to summer, but these things help make the transition easier:

  • College football season (Go Bears!)
  • Boots (I’m in love with these, these, these, and these!)
  • The smell of burning leaves
  • Sunday drives through the forest preserve
  • Apple picking, apple cider, apple butter, apple donuts
  • Canning the last of summer’s bounty (my new project this year)
  • Pumpkin carving & roasting the seeds
  • Oktoberfest & seasonal beers (Shipyard Pumpkinhead Ale? Yes, please!)
  • Scarves and hats

and finally…. warm pumpkin-spiced coffee drinks! I can’t think of anything more amazing on a chilly autumn day than the smell of fall in my coffee cup. I’m dying to try this homemade version of a Pumpkin Spiced Latte from Averie Cooks using pumpkin puree and almond milk. How delectable does that sound?

Speaking of coffee, am I the only one that has major issues with coffee dribbling down the side of my paper coffee cup? I have coffee stains in my car, on my gloves, and on the front of countless shirts because of this. Little did I know there is a simple solution to this problem.

I was in Boston three weeks ago for the last leg of my honeymoon, and I stopped into Wired Puppy for my morning cup o’ Joe. At the sugar/creamer station, they had a photo tutorial explaining the proper way to put a lid on a to-go cup of coffee. Ever since following their directions, I have had zero coffee dribbles on the front of my shirt. This is seriously exciting news. I wish I knew this years ago.

How to Correctly Put a Lid on a Coffee Cup

Step 1: Find the cup seam.

Cucina Kristina: Cup Seam

Find the cup seam

Step 2: Put the lid on with the spout facing opposite the cup seam.

Cucina Kristina: Put the lid on with the spout facing opposite the cup seam and your beverave won't dribble down your shirt.

Put the lid on with the spout facing opposite the cup seam.

That’s it? Seriously? All I had to do was rotate the lid?! Does this mean I can finally have nice things? 🙂

4 thoughts on “How To Correctly Put a Lid on a Coffee Cup

  1. Pingback: Round-Up: Top Posts of 2012 | cucina_kristina

Leave a Reply

