Wedding Wednesday Series

Cucina Kristina: Wedding Wednesday

I became Mrs. Cucina Kristina on April 21 of this year. I had planned on blogging throughout the entire process, but between wedding planning, work, and being a full-time grad student, I never managed to find the time.  Now that the wedding has passed, and I have had some time to reflect on all the work I did, I thought I would start a series on here to showcase all of the DIY projects I tackled during my wedding. DIY projects are the best way to keep your budget at bay so if you are trying to pinch your pennies I have a ton of ideas to help you out! I’ll also offer up some advice and tips for managing your wedding that I learned throughout my engagement.  If you are newly engaged, congratulations! If you are in the midst of wedding planning, hang in there! It will all be worth it in the end.

I am not one of those girls that has been dreaming of her wedding day since she was a little girl, so I had no idea what I was getting into when I decided to plan the entire wedding on my own. The internet can be so helpful but so overwhelming at the same time. There are millions of websites to sift through and hundreds of options to choose from for everything. You want blue table cloths? Be prepared to thumb through an entire binder of various shades, patterns, and fabrics.

My first piece of advice would be to enjoy your engagement. This might sound silly, but my husband and I no sooner announced our engagement when people started asking us where we were getting married, what date we chose, what our colors were going to be, what kind of dress I wanted to wear, etc. Don’t get me wrong, it is nice that people were excited, but the wedding planning process is such a whirlwind you should take some time to enjoy being engaged. Go to a romantic dinner (or two) and let the fact that you are going to be married really sink in! Plus, your partner-to-be probably put a lot of thought into how he or she (it’s 2012, people!) was going to pop the question, and you should give them some time to enjoy the spotlight without rushing straight into wedding planning.

Speaking of popping the question, if you can (I am speaking to the proposer here), hire a photographer or ask a friend to take photos while you propose. My husband’s photographer friend donated his time to do this for us, and I am so happy to have those photos as a keepsake. If you propose in a crowded public place, chances are someone will snap a photo of you and email it to you. If you are lucky and propose in a more private forum, there may be a secret photographer waiting in the wings. However, don’t bank on that because a proposal is a special moment that you can never replicate and you definitely want to document it if you can!

Leave a Reply

