Regrowing Green Onions

Chicago turned 175 years old today, and since the name Chicago was derived from the Native American word for wild onion (shikaakwa), I feel there is no more appropriate time for this post.

I learned two things about onions over the last month. The first is that they should never be stored next to potatoes because this will cause them to both to spoil faster. Who knew? Certainly not I. I knew that onions and potatoes should be kept in a cool, dry, and dark (if possible) place, but I had no idea that storing them in the same container would speed up their spoiling. Ever since discovering that, I can’t get these crocks from Sur La Table out of my mind! I think I need them immediately.

Onion crock. They have matching ones for potatoes and garlic!

The second thing I learned about onions is that you can regrow scallions, sometimes referred to as green onions. I am far from having a green thumb, my fiancé is solely responsible for keeping our summer garden alive. I am only responsible for harvesting and taking pictures. I am proud to report that I regrew these onions all on my own, which proves how easy it is!

How to Regrow Scallions (Green Onions)

Supplies:

  • Green onions
  • Glass jar or a drinking glass
  • Water

Procedure:

  1. Snip dark green portion of the onion off so only the white and light green parts remain.
  2. Place in glass jar and fill with water until the white portion is covered. Change water daily.

Regrowing scallions

That’s it! The dark green part will start to grow back after a few days. This is what my scallions looked like after 10 days.

10 days later

You can use green onions for all sorts of things. You can dice them and add them to dips or butter. You can chop them and add them to salads or top tacos and fajitas with them. Since they have a mild onion taste, I love to grill them. Grilling them removes any onion bite they have and replaces it with a sweet flavor that is irresistible. If you grill your scallions and plan on regrowing them, you can  trim them a lot closer to the root than I did in the first photo above.

Grilled Green Onions

Trimmed and seasoned green onions. All prepped for grilling! I seem to have misfiled my "after" photo 😦

Ingredients:

  • Green onions (aka Scallions)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Trim roots and toss green onions with olive oil in a shallow baking dish.
  2. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Grill until tender and browned, about 10 minutes.

You can eat grilled scallions on their own or place them inside a warm corn tortilla and serve as an accompaniment to arrachera. Happy growing!

6 thoughts on “Regrowing Green Onions

  1. Amazing! I had no idea that you could regrow these – I always forget that I have them and leave them languishing in my veg drawer. This may be the solution, thanks! 🙂

  2. I lived in Chicago and did not know the origin of the name other than that it was Native American Indian. Nice piece of history with good info. on onions. AP

  3. Pingback: Mediterranean Zucchini Cups | cucina_kristina

  4. Pingback: Easy Chunky Chicken Tortilla Soup | cucina_kristina

  5. Pingback: Round-Up: Top Posts of 2012 | cucina_kristina

  6. Pingback: My Paleo Food Diary | Cucina Kristina

Leave a Reply

