Makeup Brush Organization

Q: What does do you get when you fill a couple of Ikea vases with a bag of rice?

A: Makeup Brush Holders!

I needed a cheap way to organize my makeup brushes and this did the trick. I got the vases this afternoon for $2.49 each and the bag of rice for $1.79. The cost of this entire project was under $8, and that includes tax. Can’t beat that!

As I was walking through the grocery store, I noticed quite a few food items you could use in place of rice. Here are a few that I came across that would work just as well as rice:

  • dried beans (black, pinto, garbanzo, etc.)
  • popcorn kernels
  • red or green lentils
  • coffee beans
  • orzo or a small pasta like elbow macaroni (pasta is dirt cheap when it goes on sale!)
  • flax seeds, sesame seeds, or poppy seeds (my grocery store sells these inexpensively in bulk)

Now, if only I could find a comparable way to organize my jewelry!

5 thoughts on “Makeup Brush Organization

  1. I do not recommend the rice for a lengthy period of time. Once moisture sets in you’ll find your rice crawling with maggots. The dried coffee beans or plain beans in general seems like a better option. Just sharing some knowledge gained over the years

  2. Pingback: Round-Up: Top Posts of 2012 | cucina_kristina

  3. I just saw this blog post – not sure how I missed it before. Anyway, I do the coffee beans, and its a great way to have my bathroom smelling fresh for a longer period of time than air fresheners. We have replaced the beans once already because the good smell went away, but it was an easy fix. Did you ever change out the rice for beans?

    • I haven’t had a chance to switch them out yet so I am still using rice. I keep meaning to do it and then forget to buy beans at the market! I like the idea of coffee beans, I will have to try that out. The rice hasn’t posed any issues at all for me so far, and I love having the brushes accessible. It also helps remind me to wash them. I was really bad about that before!

Leave a Reply

