Ginger and Lemon Verbena Tea

In addition to the staple herbs I grow each year, I decided to pick up a few I have never used hoping it would inspire some creativity in the kitchen. Amongst those were marjoram, savory, and lemon verbena. I was drawn to the lemon verbena because of its sweet lemon fragrance. I figured it would make an awesome tea, and I was correct. I made a ginger and lemon verbena tea to go with the Thai Yellow Curry I made for dinner tonight, it was the perfect accompaniment. If you are a tea drinker, I would recommend growing this herb. Don’t fret, city-dwellers! Most fresh herbs can easily be grown indoors in a window.

Lemon Verbena Tea

  • Few sprigs fresh lemon verbena
  • Fresh ginger, cubed
  • Honey or agave nectar (optional for sweetness)
  • Mint leaves (optional)

Pour a little more than two mugfuls (totally an official unit of measurement) of water into a pot and bring to a boil. Your water will reduce by a little more than half as the tea steeps so you want to err on the side of more water. Bring the water to a boil and reduce the heat to medium-low. Add ginger and simmer for 15 minutes. Add lemon verbena and simmer until you have enough water to fill your mug (about another 15 minutes). Sweeten with honey or agave nectar. If you opt to use mint, add when you add the lemon verbena. Mint is strong so go easy on it so as to not overpower the lemon verbena.

The ginger cubes and lemon verbena hold their color throughout the steeping process. In fact, I think the lemon verbena gets brighter and more vibrant. This would be a really beautiful tea to serve in a clear teapot. I am in love with this one.

Leave a Reply

