From the Garden to My Kitchen

Nothing makes me happier during the summer months than going outside and picking vegetables and herbs straight from my backyard garden. The community park by our house has an organic greenhouse and every May they have an organic plant sale. It’s coming up this Saturday and I can’t wait to purchase my collection of food for the summer. We’ll have our normal staples like tomatoes and peppers, but I think I am going to try some new veggies this year. I definitely want to plant some sort of squash (maybe zucchini?), and I am thinking of trying cucumbers. Assuming they have tomatillos again, I definitely want to get those. They ran out of them by the time I got there last year, and I have an idea for fried green tomatillos kicking around in my head that I am dying to try.

Last year, our basil exploded. So, after making what seemed like liters of pesto, I decided to use some of it to spice up my hummus. Or, maybe I should say herb up my hummus since basil is an herb and not a spice. The banner photo above is one I took of last year’s basil plant. Doesn’t it make you wish you had a scratch-and-sniff computer screen?

I go through tubs of hummus like it’s nobody’s business. Party-sized? Ha! You ain’t got nothing on me. Especially when I am armed with a bag of carrots. I keep a well-stocked pantry and typically have most of the ingredients for hummus on hand, but for some reason, I don’t make it fresh very often. It is incredibly simple, affordable, and good for you so I will have to be better about that this year.

The recipe below yields about 4 cups of hummus. This is a lot more hummus than most people can eat so, if you don’t down hummus the way I do, you may want to cut this recipe in half. Enjoy!

Sun-Dried Tomato and Basil Hummus

This didn't last long

Prep time: 5 minutes
Time until you are eating: 2 minutes
Yields: 4 cups of hummus.

Ingredients:

Yum!

  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons tahini paste
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • 2 (15.5 ounce) cans garbanzo beans, drained
  • 1/2 cup(ish) olive oil
  • 1 (8 ounce) package sun-dried tomatoes (Mine were not packed in oil, but you could certainly use the oil packed kind. If you use sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, you will want to cut down on the olive oil above.)
  • Fresh basil (I just grabbed a fistful from my garden so I can’t provide an accurate measurement. The recipe I was referencing said 1/4 cup, but I used more than that. If I had to guess, I would say I used about 1 cup of fresh basil.)

Directions:

  1. Place everything in your food processor.
  2. Let her rip!
  3. Wait 30 seconds.
  4. Stream in olive oil until hummus reaches desired consistency.

That’s it! See? Told you it was simple. You can enjoy this with veggies and pita or as a spread on sandwiches. Because hummus is inexpensive to make, I find it is a good go-to when you have to show up to a party with an appetizer. It is always a big hit at and people get super impressed when you tell them you made it yourself. I recently bought some dried garbanzo beans from the bulk section of my grocery store and found them to have a nuttier flavor than the canned versions. I am itching to make hummus with them so as soon as I have enough basil I’ll do that and post about it. The only extra planning it takes is that you will have to soak the beans beforehand for about 8ish hours. However, you can just throw them in some water the night before you plan on making this and you will be good to go. The dehydrated beans are so much less expensive than the canned version and, as an added bonus, they look really pretty if you store them in clear containers in your pantry.

Do you have a backyard garden? What do you plan on planting?

3 thoughts on “From the Garden to My Kitchen

  1. Pingback: Recipe Round-Up for Super Bowl Sunday | cucina_kristina

Leave a Reply

