Everythingtarian

Everythingtarian
n. “a vegan, vegetarian, flexitarian, fruititarian, pescatarian & raw foodist all rolled in one.”

I love this word. I wish I could take credit for inventing it, but I can’t. Holly, over at The Healthy Everythingtarian coined the term that I think perfectly describes me and my eating habits. Sometimes I eat meat, sometimes I don’t. Sometimes I go weeks cooking and eating vegetarian, sometimes I eat fish. I believe in healthy eating and giving my body what it is craving (within reason). I think a big part of staying happy and healthy is finding out what works for you and what makes you feel your best and sticking to it. If you can eat ridiculous amounts of Twinkies and Ho Hos and have enough energy to run a marathon, go for it. That works for you.

Last week, I read Skinny Bitch and have been inspired to give up dairy for awhile. One of the claims they made in the book was that we are the only species that drinks the milk or another species. The book also made the claim that we are the only species that drinks milk as adults. By nature, milk is designed to fatten a baby up and help it grow. The authors, Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin, claimed that I would be astounded at how quickly I will drop weight by simply giving up dairy. Ok, I’ll give it a whirl!

I never realized how much dairy I ate on a regular basis until I consciously decided to give it up. I have successfully been eating vegan for the last week thanks to Veganomicon, the greatest cookbook in the universe. Seriously. Not a vegan? Buy this cookbook anyway. It will change your life and the relationship you have with food. It has opened me up to so many different types of food and has gotten me excited about food I was tired of eating because I had been preparing it the same way for years.

Because of this cookbook, I discovered that I love kale and parsnips and re-discovered my love for brussels sprouts and beets. Let’s not forget about my introduction to bok choy and acorn squash or how black beans were magically transformed into “burgers” that are strong enough to hold up on the grill! The thing I like the most about Veganomicon is the fact that most of the recipes consist of 85% fresh produce and 15% spices or binding agents. The book does not rely on imitation cheese, fake meat, or non-dairy products to create its recipes. For example, rather than using fake cheese to create mac n cheese, Isa Chandra uses cashews, turmeric, and sauerkraut to create a “cheezy” topping for macaroni. Her recipes are smart and creative and they have definitely opened my eyes as to how flavorful, diverse, and abundant vegan cooking really is.

I’ll definitely post some photos and recipe reviews over the next few months. Do you have any vegan websites or recipes you would like to share?

6 thoughts on “Everythingtarian

  1. ooohhh sooo glad you like the term everythingtarian!! it truly is a fabulous one, no? and of course, adding more plant-based meals into our diets is NEVER a bad thing. i love mama pea (peasandthankyou.com) for my vegan meals. i am going to be relying on her a lot this month!!

    • Miss Holly over at the Healthy Everythingtarian did not include meat in her official definition, but since being an Everythingtarian includes everything you could definitely include meat in there. In general, I don’t eat a lot of red meat so don’t bank on seeing a bunch of steak recipes here!

  2. Pingback: Eggplant Potato Moussaka with Pine Nut Cream | cucina_kristina

Leave a Reply

